PDA

View Full Version : Sleep apnea?

The Rea Family
March 21st, 2004, 02:50 PM
Can anyone tell me the signs of sleep apnea?
Christopher snores a little, he doesn't seem to get a very restful sleep, and he's always ready to take a nap by 11 a.m. .
Does this sound like sleep apnea?
How do they test for this?
My mother has sleep apnea, plus I know it's an MPS thing, so I was just wondering.
Thanks in advance.

March 21st, 2004, 06:33 PM
Dear Carrie, I am not a doctor so I can only share with you our experience with sleep apnea. The signs you mentioned were things my son was also doing. MPS children are prone to sleep apnea. My son does have sleep apnea. When he was your sons age he did the same snoring and had restless nights with jumping up and out of the bed. He would snore loudly and wake many times at night. At the age of two and a half, we did not know he had MPS but we had his tonsils out and adnoids. That helped tremendously. At 4 yrs we had the adnoids removed again as they grew back. He slept much better for awhile and began then waking with pains in hands and we addressed carpal tunnel surgery at the age of 5. Your best bet would be to talk to your doctor about a possible sleep study test where he can be monitored throughout the night, or perhaps first address the adnoids and tonsils if you have not had them out yet. Good luck. Keep us posted.

Rosemarie

DarlaMay
March 21st, 2004, 08:10 PM
Carrie,

I can only tell you want our experience has been so far. I am still trying to work this subject :? My oldest, Chris (mps6), was referred for a sleep study after I had talked with our geneticist about his snoring (when it came back after his neck decompression surgery). The neck issue was a separate issue that contributed but was not directly responsible for the apnea that I have been told.